Addai-Nimoh and Boakye Agyarko are unwilling to give in to one another – Stephen Ntim

Spread the love

Boakye Agyarko former Energy Minister and Francis Addai Nimoh former Member of Parliament(MP) for Mampong constituency, who tied for the nomination for flagbearer in Saturday’s Super Delegates Conference, are refusing to concede to one another in advance of the Presidential Primary, according to Stephen Ayesu Ntim, the NPP’s national chairman.

All attempts to persuade the two candidates to resign in order to facilitate a smooth election process for the National Delegates Conference scheduled for November 4 have reportedly failed, according to the National Chairman, Stephen Ayesu Ntim.

Speaking to the media at the party’s headquarters in Accra, he revealed that although they are still being pressured by the other to concede, it appears that everyone is ready for a rerun election on September 2, 2023.

He then said that the National Council and NEC would meet later to bring the conversation to a conclusion.

“The meeting with the two candidates was to prevail upon them if one could give in to the other. But it looks like they are all prepared to go the full hog. NEC will meet tomorrow, followed by the National Council and then try to find solution or finality to the dialogue that we want to have,” Chairman Ntim said.

Boakye Agyarko and Francis Addai-Nimoh are tied for first place, hence the NPP has stated that a runoff will be held on September 2 to break the tie and determine the last five candidates.

This comes after they each received nine (9) votes.

Prior to the final vote on November 4, 2023, the Special Delegates Conference was intended to reduce the field of candidates to five. However, both candidates received nine votes, tying them for fifth place.

At the New Patriotic Party’s Super Delegates Congress, vice president Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia won with 629 votes, or 68.15% of the vote.

After the results from 16 of the country’s 17 voting locations were totaled, Kennedy Agyapong, a member of parliament for Assin Central, came in second with 14.15% of the total votes cast. 67.10% of the votes cast went to the vice president.

Former Trades Minister Alan Kyerematen came in third with 10.85% of the vote, and former Agriculture Minister Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto came in fourth.


About admin

Check Also

Minority lashes out at the government over the alleged sale of NIB to ADB

Spread the love The National Investment Bank (NIB) has been the target of attempts to …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *