Alan fumes over “brutal assault” on his polling agent in the North East

Spread the love

The candidate for the presidency of the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP), Alan Kyerematen, has denounced the alleged assault on his polling agent on Saturday during the special electoral college election in the North East Region.

The North East Region’s coordinator for Kyerematen, Ali Zakaria, reportedly suffered an assault at the hands of unidentified delegates.

At the Nalerigu Senior High School, where voting was taking place, Zakaria was spotted bleeding heavily from a gash above his right eye.

The third-place finisher in the poll, Kyerematen, said the attack is a stain on the party.

“I would, however, like to express my deep sorrow about the brutal assault on my polling agent in the North East Region,” a statement issued by the former trade minister to thank his supporters after the poll said.

“This is an indelible blot on the integrity of the internal democratic process within the NPP. I wish my colleague speedy recovery and God’s manifold blessings, and would like to assure him and his family of my unwavering support for his wellbeing.”

Below is the full statement:

After Boakye Agyarko and Francis Addai-Nimoh tied at nine (9) votes each in the New Patriotic Party (NPP) presidential race held on Saturday, the New Patriotic Party has announced a run-off for Saturday, September 2.

The Special Delegates Conference was set up to narrow the field of candidates to five before the final vote on November 4, 2023, but both candidates received nine votes, tying the position of fifth.

In a press conference, the head of the elections committee, Mike Oquaye, announced that if neither of the two candidates withdraws, the party will hold a second election on Saturday, September 2, to settle the fate of Boakye Agyarko and Francis Addai Nimoh.

According to the official results released by the Electoral Commission, Bawumia received 629 votes, or 68.15% of all valid votes cast across the 17 polling places, to win the race. Kennedy Agyapong, the MP for Assin Central, finished in second with 132 votes (14.3%), followed by the former trade minister Kyerematen with 95 votes (10.29%).

With 36 votes (3.9%), the former agricultural minister Owusu Afriyie Akoto took the fourth place, followed by Francis Addai-Nimoh and Boakye Agyarko, who each received nine votes (0.98%), forcing a run-off for the fifth spot.


About admin

Check Also

Ghanaians in London demonstrate against their nation’s bad governance at the high commission

Spread the love On Friday, September 29, Ghanaians from all over the United Kingdom gathered …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *