Boakye Agyarko files nomination to contest NPP flagbearership

Spread the love

Supporters flocked to the New Patriotic Party (NPP) Headquarters in Asylum Down to show their support and enthusiasm as former Energy Minister Boakye Agyarko filed his nomination to run in the flagbearership competition to lead the party in 2024.

At the NPP headquarters, supporters were dressed in party colors, Boakye Agyako-branded T-shirts, and other NPP artifacts.

As the prospective flagbearer entered the headquarters, they were recorded singing and chanting.

Agyarko took the time to interact with people as he moved through the crowd, offering cordial greetings and sincere sentiments of gratitude.

Also seen dancing among the chanting mob was Boakye Agyarko.

Boakye Agyarko, the flagbearer, is confident in his ability to carry the flag and represent the party in the 2024 general election.

Boakye Agyarko, a candidate for the position of party flag bearer in the ruling New Patriotic Party, has stated that as long as the election process is fair, it would be peaceful.

The former energy minister said: “It is important that all uphold the rules and regulations” after submitting his nomination on Monday, June 19, 2023 at the party’s headquarters in Accra.

“Without sounding like a fly in the jar, there have been several provocations and rules violations that have gone unpunished. I even brought up the issue before the national council.

“So long as the rules are clear, so long as there is total fairness, so long as we are all tempered or measured, I believe that we would have a very peaceful contest. But please do not hold yourself aloof from the entire process”.

Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, former Energy Minister Boakye Agyarko, and Minister of Food and Agriculture Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto have so far filed their nominations out of the eleven NPP candidates who indicated interest in the flagbearer competition and selected forms.

The total now stands at three contestants.

Along with Mr. Agyarko, other candidates in the NPP race include Kwabena Agyepong, a former General Secretary of the party, Vice President Mahamudu Bawumia, Kennedy Agyapong, a Member of Parliament from Assin Central, Joe Ghartey, and a former Trades Minister, Alan Kyerematen.

Former Agricultural Minister Owusu Afriyie Akoto, former Regional Cooperation and NEPAD Minister Kofi Konadu Apraku, and former Mampong MP Francis Addai-Nimoh complete the group.

Source: Gyamerah

About admin

Check Also

Kyei-Mensah is extremely hardworking person – Joe Wise

Spread the love Joseph Osei-Owusu (Joe Wise), the First Deputy Speaker of Parliament, has voiced …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *