Minority reshuffle: NDC is not fragmented at all – Asiedu Nketiah claims

Spread the love

Johnson Asiedu Nketiah, the National Chairman of the National Democratic Congress (NDC), has denied claims that the party is split as a result of the shift in its parliamentary leadership.

He claims that the responses being observed as a result of the restructuring are typical and should be anticipated following any shift.

The bulk of NDC supporters, he continued, had welcomed the party’s new parliamentary leadership.

“The NDC is not fragmented at all; it’s still a very united party. The truth about every decision is that every change comes along with new gainers, so you will definitely have some reactions.

“But the change has been welcomed by the majority of NDC members across the country, I guess even here UK. The reshuffle has brought some new excitement on the front of NDC,” Asiedu Nketiah is quoted to have said while addressing NDC supporters in the United Kingdom and Ireland.

The national chairman also explained that the party’s change in parliamentary leadership was long overdue.

“This leadership ought to have been reshuffled around March 2021. I explained to Ghanaians that, because of our court case, we didn’t feel like proceeding with that work. And I indicated clearly that it was a work in progress and that somewhere along the line, we will come out to indicate to Ghanaians who our next leadership will be.

“And so I’m surprised that people were surprised about the move. In fact, we were running late for the changes,” Asiedu Nketiah stated.

Some NDC members, including some MPs, claim that the party’s parliamentarians should have been consulted before the change in the leadership of the minority caucus of Parliament, which has caused some uncertainty.

Dr. Cassiel Ato Forson, a former deputy minister of finance, has been named the minority leader of Ghana’s 8th Parliament by the NDC leadership.

Haruna Iddrisu, the MP for Tamale South, was succeeded by him.

Kofi Armah Buah, an Ellembele MP, will take over as Deputy Minority Leader, according to the NDC.

While Muntaka Mohammed, an Asawase MP, would be replaced as Chief Whip by Kwame Governs Agbodza, an Adaklu MP.

The position of First Deputy Minority Whip has been retained by Ahmed Ibrahim, MP for Banda, while the position of Second Deputy Minority Whip has been given to Comfort Doyo Cudjoe-Ghansah, MP for Ada.

A few party lawmakers have requested that the National Executive Committee (NEC) postpone the selection of the new party leadership in Parliament.

The NDC MPs who are calling for the suspension, including Mohammed Mubarak Muntaka (MP for Asawase), Dominic Ayine (MP for Bolgatanga East), and Cletus Avoka (MP for Zebilla), claim that the appointment was imposed by a small group of people rather than made by any of the party’s decision-making structures.

Source: Ghanatodayonline.com

About admin

Check Also

NIA workers suspend strike

Spread the love An indefinite strike that started on June 10, 2024, has been suspended, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *