NPP flagbearer hopefuls commit to party unity after primary

Spread the love

In the event that they lose Saturday’s primary, the four candidates running for the position of flagbearer in the New Patriotic Party (NPP) have agreed not to leave the party.

The National Council of Elders and the candidates came to this resolution at their meeting.

The NPP’s General Secretary, Justin Frimpong Koduah, told the media after the meeting that the candidates had also decided to accept the primary results and give the party’s interests top priority.

“We were able to get all four aspirants to sign an undertaking, and in summary, they are to accept the primary results, promote peace and cohesion. If they don’t win, they will not resign from the party and will support the winner of the primary” Justin Kodua said.

In addition, the candidates have pledged to “ensure and enforce mechanisms established by the party and work within the timelines set by the party until the results are declared, and to respect the decision of the party’s delegates.”

The Council of Elders Chairman expressed concern about the party’s lack of unity and blamed certain people’s self-serving behavior for it.

He emphasized how important it is for the candidates running for president to avoid causing division and to stick together following the forthcoming presidential primaries.

Dr. Owusu Afriyie Akoto, Kennedy Agyapong, Francis Addai-Nimoh, and Vice President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia are the four candidates vying to be the NPP flagbearer.


About admin

Check Also

“One of the keys to victory for NPP in 2024 is unity” – Bawumia to Committee Members

Spread the love The New Patriotic Party’s (NPP) presidential candidate, Vice-President Dr. Mahamudu Bawumia, has …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *