NPP to conduct parliamentary primaries in orphan constituencies December 2

Spread the love

For the purpose of choosing Parliamentary Candidates (PCs) for the general election of 2024 in constituencies where the ruling New Patriotic Party (NPP) does not have a Member of Parliament (MP), which are known as the “orphan constituencies,” the party has scheduled its Extraordinary Constituency Delegates Conference for Saturday, December 2, 2023.

As a result, the party announced that from tomorrow, Tuesday, November 14, to Thursday, November 16, 2023, the regional capitals would host the screening of parliamentary candidates in the orphan constituencies.

The decision was made at a National Executive Committee (NEC) meeting that was held last Friday, Nov. 10, according to a statement released last Friday and signed by the party’s general secretary, Justin Frimpong Kodua. The statement also announced the date of the primaries in the orphan constituencies.

The party declared that comprehensive rules governing the conduct of the primaries in these constituencies will be released shortly.

It congratulated luck to all candidates and demanded the complete cooperation of all parties involved in the primaries’ administration.

Six of the orphan constituencies’ elections have been postponed, according to the government, although no explanation was given.

They are Bawku Central in the Upper East Region, Yilo Krobo in the Eastern Region, Jomoro in the Western Region, Fomena in the Ashanti Region, Ketu North and Akatsi North in the Volta Region, and Jomoro in the Western Region.

Additionally, the party declared that PC elections will take place in constituencies where its MPs are currently in office on January 20, 2024. Nominations would be accepted from December 20 to December 22, 2023.

According to the statement, a few people had been chosen to serve as national representatives on the screening committees for the several constituencies in which the party did not currently have any MPs.

The Greater Accra Region is divided into two groups: Group B is led by Kate Gyamfua and includes Dr. Gladys Norley Ashietey and Agya Yaw Nsiah, while Group A is directed by Mr. Kodua and includes Kwame Kyeretwie-Amponsah and Dr. Nyame Baafi.

Dr. Charles Dwamena is the chairman of the Ashanti Region, while Elizabeth Agyeman and Nana Wiafe are members. Henry Nana Boakye is the chairman of the Eastern Region, and Jennifer Oforiwaa Appiah and Nana Obiri Boahen are members.

The Central Region committee is divided into two groups: Group B is led by Frank Davies and includes Bodja Emmanuel Korsi and Stephen Forson, while Group A is chaired by Danquah Smith Buttey and includes Hajia Ayesha Yussif and Ninkab King David Nkanbonam.

Salam Mustapha leads the Oti Regional Vetting Committee, while Alhaji Masawudu Osman leads the Volta Region’s committee.

The committees are chaired by Alhaji Abdul Aziz Futa for the Western region and Isaac Jay Hyde for the Western North region.

Michael Nketiah is in charge of the Ahafo Region, while Haruna Mohammed and Rita Asobayire head the Bono and Bono East regions, respectively.

Hajia Safia Mohammed is the chairperson of the Upper East Regional Committee; Joseph Nganiba Kwayaja is the chairman of the Upper West Region; and Kwabena Frimpong is the chairperson of the North East Regional Committee.

Richard Ahiagbah serves as the chairman of the Savannah Regional Committee, while Dr. Antoinette Tsiboe-Darko leads the Northern Region committee.

Read the full statement issued by Justin Frimpong Kodua the General Secretary below:


About admin

Check Also

Kyei-Mensah is extremely hardworking person – Joe Wise

Spread the love Joseph Osei-Owusu (Joe Wise), the First Deputy Speaker of Parliament, has voiced …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *