President Akufo-Addo nominates 3 new Supreme Court Justices

Spread the love

Three more justices have been nominated by President Akufo-Addo to the Ghanaian Supreme Court.

The following individuals have been promoted to Justices of the Nation’s Supreme Court: Justice Henry Anthony Kwofie, Justice of Appeal; Justice Yaw Asare Darko; and Justice Richard Agyei Frimpong.

The three are anticipated to succeed retiring justices on the Supreme Court. First Deputy Speaker Joseph Osei-Owusu read a statement from President Akufo-Addo to the parliament, in which he claimed that the nominees complied with all applicable laws in the nation.

The nominees were then forwarded for vetting by the Bekwai MP to the Appointment Committee, which he chairs.

Reading the communication from the President he said: “Over the course of the last few months, in February, May, and June, respectively, three vacancies have been created on the Supreme Court bench. By convention, and having regard to its excessive jurisdiction, the Supreme Court bench comprises the Chief Justice and 15 other justices. These vacancies have occurred as a result of the mandatory retirement of Justice Nene Abayeteye Ofoe Amegatcher on February 3, 2023, former Chief Justice Kwasi Anin-Yeboah on May 24, 2023, and Justice Jones Dotse on June 8, 2023. There are now 13 justices of the Supreme Court, including the Chief Justice, Gertrude Torkornoo.”


About admin

Check Also

Kyei-Mensah is extremely hardworking person – Joe Wise

Spread the love Joseph Osei-Owusu (Joe Wise), the First Deputy Speaker of Parliament, has voiced …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *