President Akufo-Addo swears in two new Supreme Court justices

Spread the love

On December 28, 2022, President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo swore in two new justices to the supreme court.

At a quick ceremony held at the capital, the two were sworn in.

The two people were approved for nomination to the Supreme Court by Parliament’s Appointments Committee in October.

About four people, including Justices Barbara Ackah-Yensu and Samuel Kwame Asiedu, were nominated by President Akufo-Addo to the Supreme Court in July.

In accordance with House Standing Order 172, the nominations were forwarded to the Appointments Committee of the House for review and a report by Speaker of the House Alban Sumana Bagbin.

The fate of the other members, including Justices Gaewu and Koomson, was not revealed in the Appointment Committee’s report.

In his report to Parliament, Mr. Joseph Osei-Owusu, the Chairman of the Appointments Committee, stated that the Committee unanimously recommended that Justice Ackah-Yensu and Mr. Justice Asiedu be confirmed as Justices of the Supreme Court.

He said that the two shown skill in their legal knowledge, displayed moral fiber and competency, and vowed to interpret the law impartially and without regard for politics.


About admin

Check Also

You will get more accountability from me than Mahama – Bawumia to electorate

Spread the love Ghanaians have been asked by Dr. Mahamadu Bawumia, the flagbearer of the …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *