NPP confirms Afenyo-Markin as new Majority Leader in Parliament

Spread the love

Alexander Afenyo-Markin, the Member of Parliament for Effutu, is getting ready to assume the role of Majority Leader as of today, Friday, February 23, according to the confirmation of the New Patriotic Party’s National Council.

This dramatic shift in the leadership of the Majority Front Bench is in line with the Speaker’s recent decision regarding the selection process and comes after a recent interpretation of parliamentary procedure.

At a meeting chaired by Justin Kodua Frimpong, the General Secretary of the New Patriotic Party (NPP), the changes in leadership were confirmed.

Members of the Majority Caucus discussed the National Executive Committee’s (NEC) recommendations for the leadership shuffle at this meeting.

According to our sources, the General Secretary presented the recommendations and the Majority Caucus concurrence letter to the National Council after the meeting, and the National Council approved them at a meeting held at the Alisa Hotel in Accra.

This procedure complies with Speaker Alban SK Bagbin’s interpretation of Order 6 of the Standing Orders of Parliament (2024).

The Speaker’s interpretation has made it clear that, even though parliamentary caucuses are crucial to the process of choosing the next leader, political parties must remain involved in order to maintain a balance between parliamentary norms and internal party democracy.

KT Hammond, Adansi Asokwa MP, and Kyei Mensah Bonsu will then formally install Alexander Afenyo-Markin as the new Majority Leader in a ceremonial act of transition. After that, Afenyo-Markin will give his first speech in this new capacity, introducing himself and his goals.

According to the NEC’s recommendations, the newly appointed leadership team for the Majority Front Bench will be:

1. Majority Leader: Alexander Afenyo-Markin, MP for Effutu
2. Deputy Majority Leader: Patricia Appiagyei, MP for Asokwa
3. Majority Chief Whip: Frank Annoh Dompreh, MP for Nsawam/Adoagyiri
4. First Deputy Majority Chief Whip: Habib Iddrisu, MP for Tolon
5. Second Deputy Majority Chief Whip: Alex Tetteh Djornobuah, MP for Sefwi Akontombra

On Friday, February 23, the New Patriotic Party (NPP) will meet to discuss Mr. Osei Kyei-Mensah-Bonsu’s resignation as Majority Leader of Parliament.

The meeting, which is slated to begin at 9 a.m. at the Alisa Hotel in Accra, is intended to help with the selection of his replacement. Many have speculated that Alexander Afenyo-Markin, the deputy majority leader currently in office, will take up the position.



About admin

Check Also

Ghana reaches agreement with bilateral creditors over debt restructuring

Spread the love Ghana has obtained a Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) regarding the restructuring of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *