The Appointments Committee to vet 4 Supreme Court nominees

Spread the love

The Public Affairs Directorate of Parliament announced in a statement that the four judges President Akufo-Addo nominated to the Supreme Court bench would be appearing before the Appointments Committee of Parliament later today.

Justice George Kingsley Koomson, Justice Samuel Kwame Adibu Asiedu, and Justice Barbara Frances Ackah-Yensu, all of the Appeal court, are the nominees.

Justice Ernest Yao Gaewu is the sole member of the High Court to have made the list.

The four candidates were put forth by President Akufo-Addo for appointment to the Supreme Court bench in July 2022.

These nominations were made by the President to fill anticipated vacancies on the Supreme Court.

Following the notice that was submitted to him from the Presidency in July, Speaker of the House Alban Bagbin forwarded the names to the Appointments Committee for review.

Additionally, interested individuals and groups were asked to submit their memoranda about the nominees to the Clerk of the Appointments Committee for review.


About admin

Check Also

Fuel prices to go up between 4% – 5% – IES predicts

Spread the love It is anticipated that in the upcoming days, the price of gasoline …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *