Voluntarily and honourably resign from the EC board – CODEO

Spread the love

The three new board members of the Electoral Commission (EC) have been demanded to resign by the Coalition of Domestic Election Observers (CODEO).

At a news conference on April 5, 2023, held in Accra, CODEO stated that it is aware that the voluntary termination of the three’s appointments is doubtful.

We are painfully aware that the President’s voluntarily and constitutionally supported reversal of these terrible and democratically difficult EC appointments is exceedingly doubtful, CODEO leader Rev. Dr. Fred Degbey remarked during a press conference.

Nonetheless, CODEO stated that, “nothing stops the affected appointees, namely Dr Peter Appiahene and Hajia Salima Tijani from voluntarily and honourably resigning from the EC.”

According to CODEO, “This will be in the supreme interest of our country’s continued democratic progress, election peace and credibility and indeed overall national interest.”

On Monday, March 20, 2023, the president named Rev. Akua Ofori Boateng, Salima Armed Tijani, and Dr. Peter Appiahene as three new EC board members.

They were chosen in accordance with the 1992 Constitution’s Article 43 (1 and 2), which states: “There should be an electoral commission, consisting of a chairperson, two deputy chairs, and four other members.

In accordance with Article 70 of this Constitution, the President shall appoint the commission’s members.

As the 2024 general elections get near, President Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo asked the EC to be strong with its choices and not let itself to be railroaded by anyone since Ghanaians would be attentively observing its decisions.

Source: Ghanatodayonline.com

About admin

Check Also

COPEC blames fuel price hike on depreciation of the Cedi

Spread the love The Executive Secretary of the Chamber of Petroleum Consumers (COPEC) has encouraged …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *